Me first

My fire is dim, hidden within.

My heart is on the mend never to be broken again.

For I can’t give myself away so easily.

If you want me you have to prove it.

If you want my heart, then you have to move it.

I know you don’t see the greatness in me but I’m stronger than what you see.

My heart burns for a gentle love.

The same gentle love that God has for me.

One that is deep and wide.

One that doesn’t hide.

I’m not your dream woman and that’s okay.

I never expected you to stay.

I’m sad only for a moment of ‘what ifs’

But I can’t pay the price of shattering my own heart to give you life.

Leave a Reply

