See Me

I’m standing here with a smile on my face.

What do you see?

Maybe just a girl who is happy. 

Maybe a girl who has something to hide.

I’m standing in front of you desperate for a friend, yet you don’t see.

The conversation ends and my smile fades.

Long drives with sad music.

Thoughts of loneliness ensue.

I pray to God to show me what is true.

You’re standing there with a smile on your face.

What do I see?

I see a soul longing for connection.

I see pain and wonder.

I see a heart yearning for something more.

I see you.

Can you see me? 

2 thoughts on “See Me

Leave a Reply

