Hemingway

Shameful, guilty, worthless

These are my verses I tell myself each day.

My mind leads me astray.

Call me Hemingway.

They say you have to let the light in

but how can I do that when I have to show what’s within?

People say I have a nice smile but only for a little while.

They read my verses and say, “Maybe you should try a new style”

Shameful, guilty, worthless

These are my verses I tell myself each day.

My mind leads me astray.

Call me Hemingway.

Why can’t I be what I want?

Why can’t I say what I’m feeling?

I’ll never be a debutante.

So stop the judgments it’s unappealing.

I’m broken but I always will be until I leave.

No, I’m not going to grieve.

This is me.

And all my idiosyncrasies.

Leave a Reply

