Love is Patient but It Isn’t Always Easy to Be

Romans 12:12, “Be joyful in hope, patient in affliction, faithful in prayer”

Patient in affliction…..That is so hard! When we feel like we are going through hell the last thing we want to do is be patient. I struggle so much with keeping my eyes on God and waiting for His timing. I know His plan is better than mine but I just hate waiting! The area in my life where God has made me be the most patient is boys….. I have never had a boyfriend. I have never been asked on a proper date. I was asked out my senior year to prom but that has been it. This area of my life has been the hardest for me to be patient in. My beautiful mom always talked about praying for my husband ever since I was little. I have always loved the idea of finding my one true prince…. but I have no idea what having a boyfriend is like. I have no idea how it feels to be kissed after a date. I have no idea what it is like to have someone look at me with eyes that adore me. This has been one of God’s biggest tests for me.

1 Corinthians 13:4-5, “Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs.”

I think one of the reasons I haven’t been asked out or found the love of my life is: 1. It hasn’t been God’s timing yet. 2. I haven’t become the person who I am looking for is looking for (Andy Stanley). God wants me to be the best person I can be for my husband. That’s why He is constantly shaping and molding me. He knows what I desire in a husband and He knows what my husband desires in me. As much as I hate waiting to find that everlasting love. I can rest in the fact that God has it all figured out. He knows when the best time will be for us to meet and to start a relationship.

Since I have moved down to Florida there has been a massive work in my heart. I have all this quiet time to sit with the Lord and pray. I pray for peace and for the Lord to help me to become the best person I can be. I pray continually for my husband and his strength in the Lord. I don’t know where the Lord will take me but I do know that I will follow no matter what.

I hope that if you struggle with waiting on “the one” that you will know that God has it all planned out for you. It isn’t easy to wait but just put your trust in the Lord that He will send the right person at the right time!

Isaiah 30:18, “Yet the Lord longs to be gracious to you;
therefore he will rise up to show you compassion.
For the Lord is a God of justice.
Blessed are all who wait for him!”

One thought on “Love is Patient but It Isn’t Always Easy to Be

  1. Love your heart, and your blog, sweet Annabelle! I didn’t get asked out or have a “real” boyfriend until I was 20, and didn’t get married until I was almost 30! Some might think I was a “late bloomer”, but really I was just waiting on His timing…….and trust me, it was worth the wait! I know you will find somebody amazing, when His time is right. And until then, keep shining bright like you are!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

