Sticks and Stones may Break my Bones but Words Will Always Hurt Me

Why do words hurt so badly? Why do they carry so much weight with our soul? Why is it that I can’t remember all my anatomy but I can remember a hurtful comment said to me from elementary school? Words are powerful. They are more powerful than any man made machine. Words are so powerful that you can rules nations with them. You can convince people to commit genocide with them. Words are so powerful that when you’re pregnant your child will mimic the way you talk. Words are so so so so powerful.

Proverbs 18:21 “Death and life are in the power of the tongue, And those who love it will eat its fruit”

Death and life….wow…. We must be so careful what we say to one another because it can cause DEATH or LIFE! Isn’t it scary to know that every hurtful, mean, or judgmental comment you’ve ever said could have brought death to their soul. I don’t know about you but I sure as heck don’t want to be known for speaking death! I want to encourage and love on people. It isn’t always easy, though. There are plenty of times where someone says something nasty to me and I want to say something nasty right back. In those moments I have to ask the Lord to help me.

From kindergarten through sophomore year of high school I was horrifically bullied for my weight. Yes, I was fat but at least I was sweet (most of the time lol). To this day my insecurities with the way I look can take over my mind. I struggle horribly with not looking in the mirror and hating myself because of those comments. The devil tries to play on my fears and insecurities and whispers things like, “See all those people were right about you”. God gives me the courage to stand up to him and tell him, “No devil! I am fearfully and wonderfully made by my heavenly Father!”

I am a work in progress and always will be. The one thing I have learned from my experiences is that I NEVER want to hurt somebody with my words. I know first hand how destructive it can be.

Psalm 57:4 “My soul is among lions; I must lie among those who breathe forth fire, Even the sons of men, whose teeth are spears and arrows And their tongue a sharp sword”

My soul is among lions who want to cause death but I will choose not to become one of them. I choose to guard my tongue and to only say words that encourage and build. I pray that if you struggle with your tongue being a sword that you’ll remember it can be Life and Death. The Lord LOVED you so much that he died for you and He would never want anyone to stab you with their words. It is a conscious choice we have to make to Love one another. Love will always win!!! Jesus proved that by what he did on the Cross. Death was covered by LOVE!

I hope you have a blessed day and I hope you know how loved you are. You are valuable and worthy. You were made for a great purpose!

Leave a Reply

